Testing Times – 2021 Timetrials May & June

30th June 2021

Our timetrial season is now well underway with no fewer than 4 events in May & June – starting with our hilly 10 on theK49/10 Abbots Bromley course on 11th May. The weather provided an unwanted spectacle just before the start with thunder, lightning, torrential rain and finally a heavy coating of hail which laid on roads and verges. Fortunately, the sky cleared at just the right time so we were able to run the event safely and a slightly reduced field of riders still produced some respectable times with our own Martin Plumbe claiming first place with 25.56, followed by Sam Knight just behind him in 2nd (26.05) with Simon Orme a very respectable 6th with 28.52.

Our next event was also affected by the wet May weather, but we were treated to an incredible ride from winner Danny Smith who scorched round 2 laps of the K17 10 km course in 26.28 on 18th May. The rest of the 15-rider field recorded fast times aplenty despite the damp conditions; our best Brereton Wheeler was Sam Knight (30.54), placing him 7th. Martin Plumbe had to concede a couple of places to Sam on this occasion (32.26 & 10th) with a trio of Wheelers recording 13th – 15th with John Baugh (35.14), Simon Orme (35.18) and Jack Baugh (37.19).

Conditions were a lot drier and warmer for our 25-mile TT over 4-laps of the same K17/10k course on 1st June.  Danny won once again by well over 5 minutes, almost certainly breaking the course record into the bargain with his 53.02 despite traffic conditions and the T junctions which litter this course. 3 more sub-hour times were posted by guest riders but Brereton riders performed well with very respectable times of 1.05.02 (Sam Knight) and 1.07.17 (Simon Orme).

Our most recent timetrial was the “Tour Brereton” on 15th June, now in its shorter 20-mile version over 2 laps of a challenging 10-mile circuit based on the A51 between Rugeley and Lichfield, and Armitage. Honours for the fastest Brereton Wheeler went to our sole representative in a small field of 5, Martin Plumbe with a 2nd-placed time of 52.07 which will deservedly win him the famous trophy but despite his best efforts, there was no challenging 17-year old winner Ben Askey’s time of 43.50 which was in a class apart. 

Thanks to all riders who have supported our events and to race officials Phil Deakin and Ian McGregor and the team of club members who supported them to make these events possible. 

Our next Timetrial is back to the Shaw Lane 10k circuit (K17/10k) for 2 laps on Tuesday 6th July at 7pm – for details, please see our website and updates will appear on our Facebook page.

Geoff O’Farrell